My name is Hector. I am 43 years old. I am from Chontales, Nicaragua.

When I was a little boy, I used to play different games. And most of the time, I was having fun with my friends. I was always very happy because I could play with my friends.

I was also fighting with the other kids. I was an angry kid. They were mocking me and saying nasty words to me.

I went to school for one year. I was eight years old. My mum wanted me to be at school but then she was not interested in me attending school. Back then I wanted to study more. Right now, I think I cannot do that because I am an old man.

When I was a young man, I was a little bit different because I was not going to parties like the other young people. I preferred God’s things.

There was a family nearby, they were good people and I liked to visit them because they had cows and I liked seeing the cows. They gave me a little payment for my work. I didn’t have a lot of money. I would spend that money on food and other needs.

Now, I take care of pigs.

There is a place where there are pigs and I take care of these animals. About eight pigs. I feed the pigs and I clean this place where they are. I like my job and I like to feed the pigs.

I have a lot of friends at church. They all know me and I think they all love me. I love the end of the mass when we are all about to leave. We all hug each other and that’s a very friendly thing to do. So I like it at the end of the mass.

I want to get married but not in this moment.

I like Christmas. In the Christmas season we have different activities in the communities. So I always get up at 3 am so that I can participate in these activities that the Catholic church is developing during this season. I do it for nine days.

I feel happy now and I feel happier than when I was a young person because now I am involved in God’s things.

Hector has an intellectual and physical disability.

More Stories